Each year OTLA lawyers volunteer their time to support the development of trial skills, civility and professionalism amongst law school students by organizing the OTLA Cup. Law schools from across Ontario compete in a simulated trial which covers all aspects of a real court case. The OTLA Cup is held each year in a courthouse, rotating amongst various cities around the province, and is presided over by a local judge, with OTLA members making up the jury. Through the generous support of various law firms, OTLA members award prizes to the law students who exemplify the best in trial advocacy.

OTLA Cup participants

25th Annual OTLA Cup Showcases Ontario Law Schools’ Litigation Talents

OTLA extends its congratulations to the award-winners and competitors in the recent OTLA Cup trial moot. This annual event provides law students from across Ontario with the unique opportunity to argue a jury trial in front of a judge of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice. The OTLA Cup also familiarizes law students with OTLA’s work.

This year’s event, which took place March 4, 2017, was particularly special because it was the first OTLA Cup to feature a team from Lakehead University’s law school. Ryan Venn and Amber Bonnell proudly represented their school.

The problem being argued was a motor vehicle accident that took place at the centre line on a snowy winter road, implicating in litigation not only the drivers but also a commercial host, a Good Samaritan, and the municipality and its contractor.

The Honourable Justice Stephen Firestone of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice kindly spent his Saturday presiding over the hearing. His Honour provided invaluable advice to the competitors, and alerted them to resources for handling significant issues that arose in the litigation, including advice on the content of opening addresses in jury trials and on the use of expert reports.

  • Best Opening: Brody Appotive, Queen's University
  • Best Examination in Chief: Katelyn Letchford, University of Western Ontario
  • Best Cross-Examination: Parmbir Gill, Osgoode
  • Best Closing: Zahra Shariff, Osgoode
  • Best Overall Advocate: Adam Lawson, University of Windsor
  • Best Team, Winners of the 2017 OTLA Cup: Adam Lawson & Noah Haynes, University of Windsor

2017 OTLA Cup Winners

Any law firm would be very fortunate to recruit any of these excellent future litigators.

Congratulations to the winners and to all of the participants!

OTLA thanks the sponsors of the event. The prizes were sponsored by: Boland Howe LLP, Greg Monforton, Bonn Law, Will Davidson LLP, H. Bruce T. Hillyer, and Bergeron Clifford. Collins Barrow, BridgePoint Financial Group, and Oatley Vigmond sponsored hospitality. Team sponsors were Derek Nicholson Professional Corporation (uOttawa team), Bogoroch & Associates LLP (Queen’s), Lerners LLP (Western), White MacGillivray Lester LLP (Lakehead), and Scarfone Hawkins LLP (Windsor).

OTLA thanks Beament Hebert Nicholson LLP for its assiduous work in organizing this year’s OTLA Cup.



We would like to thank everyone involved and look forward to seeing many of you next year!

If you are interested in becoming involved in future OTLA Cup events, please email



For more information, please contact Linda Langston at