2019 Awards

Nominations will be received until February 10, 2020.  


The three criteria that will be used to assess all nominations are:

  • Impact: Clients, OTLA members, the legal profession and the community
  • Engagement: Working with OTLA and the profession
  • Inspiration: Challenges overcome – personal, legal







SAFETY LEADERSHIP AWARDS previous recipients
Presented to Individuals or Groups outside of OTLA* that have demonstrated leadership in advancing safety initiatives in the communities or province-wide. 
*OTLA members are not eligible to receive the OTLA Leadership Safety Award. 



H. Bruce T. Hillyer Award - previous recipients 
Presented to an individual who exemplifies the spirit of OTLA in fearlessly advancing the cause of individual rights by the effective use of trial advocacy.

John A. McLeish  - previous recipients
Presented to the person, association or group which has made an outstanding contribution to the goals of a fair trial and access to justice, as an advocate, in legal scholarship, continuing legal education, legal writing, journalism, politics or government.

Dean Edgell  - previous recipients
Presented to an OTLA lawyer member who has promoted the goals of OTLA through significant contribution and excellence in legal writing, continuing legal education, and leadership activities. 

Martin Wunder, Q.C.- Outstanding New Lawyer - previous recipients
Presented to an OTLA lawyer member in recognition of exceptional commitment to and promotion of the advancement of OTLA’s Mission: To fearlessly champion through the pursuit of the highest standards of advocacy the cause of those who have suffered injury or injustice. Candidates must have practiced law for less than 10 years and be nominated by an OTLA Member in good standing. The successful recipient will have demonstrated participation in activities and programs to improve our legal system and its responsiveness to those for whom we advocate. The individual will have displayed professional proficiency, undertaken trials, service to the profession and service to the community. 

Women’s Caucus - previous recipients 
Presented to a female lawyer in OTLA who has demonstrated leadership in OTLA, promoted the retention and advancement of women in law, mentored other women and supported other female lawyers in OTLA. 

Distinguished Service - previous recipients
Presented for long standing dedicated service to furthering the goals and ideals of the Ontario Trial Lawyers Association. 



Outstanding Law Clerk previous recipients
Presented to the OTLA law clerk who has demonstrated exceptional commitment and proficiency to the OTLA Law Clerk Section, or contributed in a significant way to cases over the past year. The successful candidate will have displayed generosity with their time and contributions in their assistance to their fellow law clerks, and/or to their law offices, and has shown a dedication to those for whom we advocate. 

Distinguished Law Clerk previous recipients
Presented to a senior law clerk, with at least 5 years membership in the OTLA Law Clerks Section, who has consistently exemplified the mission of the organization.