Safety Leadership Awards

The OTLA Safety Leadership Awards were established in 2011 to honour individuals and organizations that have made remarkable and extensive contributions towards enhancing safety awareness in their communities in Ontario and helped to prevent injury to those around them.


Deadline for Nominations - February 28, 2017
Categories: OTLA members are invited to nominate Individuals or Groups outside of OTLA* that have demonstrated leadership in advancing safety initiatives in their communities or province-wide.
What to submit: Please send an email or letter to detailing why your nominee should be considered for a Safety Award and include a brief written description to support your nomination and any necessary supporting documents e.g. media coverage, website links for your proposal. Also include contact information for your nominee including name, contact mailing address, email and phone numbers.
For more information: 
Please contact John Karapita at

2016 Honourees


Peel Children's Safety Village

Pictured, left-right: Christie Hallett, Maia Bent, Constable Michelle Vivian

An innovative community project launched in 1994, the Peel Children's Safety Village aims to reduce the alarming rate of preventable traffic accidents, the leading cause of death for children aged one to nine. OTLA members have worked with the Safety Village and other local community partners to run the Helmets on Kids program in that region since 2007.


Constable Peter De Quintal, Toronto Police Services

Pictured, left-right: Constable Peter De Quintal, Maia Bent

Constable De Quintal has used his love of the Star Wars universe to break down barriers between police and Ontario kids. Each year, Constable De Quintal runs a bike rodeo program for over 350 children, which involves high school students as community leaders. A staunch advocate for safety and community leadership, Constable De Quintal often appears as a guest speaker on behalf of Toronto police in his role as school resource officer. 


Windsor-Essex Schools' Safety Patrol Association

Pictured, left-right: Greg Monforton, Teresa Schaefer, Maia Bent

The City of Windsor is a safer place thanks to this Safety Patrol group, whose Association Board includes representatives from the amalgamated local school board, police services, corporate transportation partners, and the School Bus Safety Committee. These groups train and coordinate student volunteers aged 10-13, who develop leadership skills and safety awareness among their peers. Teresa Schaefer, Vice-President of the association was present to accept this award on behalf of the Windsor-Essex Schools' Safety Patrol Association.


Hawkins-Gignac Foundation for Carbon Monoxide Education

John Gignac, the Foundation Co-chair was unable to attend for photograph, but expressed how humbled and appreciative he is to be chosen for this special award.

The Hawkins-Gignac Foundation was established to honour the memory of the Hawkins familiy who tragically lost their lives to accidental carbon monoxide poisoning in 2008. The Foundation promotes awareness of carbon monoxide and raises funds for Canadian fire departments in their work to provide carbon monoxide alarms to at-risk families. In 2015, the Hawkins-Gignac Foundation was instrumental in passing legislation requiring carbon monoxide alarms in all Ontario households.


2015 Honourees

Cindy Lawrence, Halton Regional Police Service Children's Safety Village

(L-R: Laura Hillyer, OTLA Director; Cindy Lawrence, Halton Regional Police Service)

The Halton Regional Police Service Children’s Safety Village is a miniature town with buildings, sidewalks, roads and traffic signals. It opened in 1987 and has approximately 10,000 children visit each year for free safety-based classes. The safety village has also worked with OTLA members to run the Helmets on Kids program. OTLA is pleased to recognize Cindy Lawrence for her devotion to community, and especially children's safety.


Lisa Bradshaw, Helping Acquired Brain Injury Treatment (HABIT)

(L-R: Lisa Bradshaw, HABIT; Maia Bent, OTLA President)

Helping Acquired Brain Injury Treatment (HABIT) was formed in 2002 to provide funding to brain injured children. Lisa Bradshaw was a founder and is the secretary/treasurer. Ms. Bradshaw has worked with HABIT to run a bicycle helmet awareness program in her hometown of Strathroy for the past eight years. She has worked with the local police department to establish a program where police will stop children who are riding their bikes and give out coupons if they are wearing helmets and provide safety information if they are not. We recognize Lisa Bradshaw for all of her work with HABIT and in her community. 


Dianne Bradford, Windsor Regional Hospital - Prevent Alcohol and Risk Related Trauma in Youth (PARTY)

(L-R: Greg Monforton, OTLA Past President; Dianne Bradford, Windsor Regional Hospital; Laura Wilkie, Greg Monforton & Partners; Bradley Robitaille, Greg Monforton & Partners; Maia Bent, OTLA President)

The Windsor Regional Hospital hosts a program for youth called PARTY: Prevent Alcohol and Risk Related Trauma in Youth. Their mission is to promote injury prevention through reality education, enabling youth to recognize risk and make informed choices about activities and behaviours. Part of the reality education is a case scenario where participants are taken through a trauma. They are brought to the emergency department, local police attend to question and arrest the driver. They tour the ICU and meet with staff to discuss the outcome of poor choices and the importance of safe choices. Diane Bradford is a registered nurse at Windsor Regional Hospital and will be accepting the award on behalf of the PARTY Program.


Dr. Douglas Fraser, Children's Health Research Institute & Team Members

(L-R: Kevin McClafferty, Children's Health Research Institute; Tanya Charyk Stewart, Children's Health Research Institute; Maia Bent, OTLA President)

The Children’s Health Research Institute in London is the third largest hospital-based child health research institute in Canada. One team is looking at the particular needs and risks for children in rear seats in vehicles. The team of experts from a variety of disciplines work together to solve a mystery:  Where are children safe in a car? The answer has not been investigated in this way anywhere else in the world. Dr. Douglas Fraser is spearheading this team of investigators and today we recognize Dr. Fraser and his team for this incredible work. Team members include: Ms. Tanya Chary Stewart, Dr. Jason Gilliland, Dr. Mike Shkrum, Mr. Kevin McClafferty, Mr. Jean-Louis Comeau, and Dr. Neil Parry.